Scribbles

I (pretty much mostly kind of) HATE RULES

Say YOLO AGAIN bruh!

I started this post& never finished it

It’s 7:49pm as I write this. I’m not normally still at the office this late but I am right now and that’s life and whatever. 

My dilemma is this: do I eat a granola bar, go to the gym for 20 minutes and THEN go home, eat leftovers for dinner at like 10pm, do whatever Internet-dicking-around I normally do before bedtime OR do I leave now, skip the workout, and get home at a reasonable hour so I can cook a nice dinner and be in bed early 

How do you know what’s good for you…what you need RIGHT NOW…

And then I got annoyed and said FUCK YOU to the Examine-Every-Second-Of-Your-Life-Instinct and shut my mouth hole and went to the gym.

BUT. I JUST HAVE TO SAY SOMETHING.

DINNER TIME is such an illusion.

Because if I leave the office at 7, get home by 8, cook some shit and eat by 9, then I’m violating the “don’t eat two hours before bed” rule so I stay up until 1AM…but then I’m violating the “get 7 hours of sleep or you’ll DIE rule” and I’m tired when I wake up because my alarm goes off in the middle of a sleep-cycle instead of the end of one, which is another no-no so I hit the snooze button a million times which I read in an article somewhere that doing so takes like 3 hours a week which means you’re slowly wasting away your life every time you go back to sleep for 2-7 more minutes and the rule here is YOLO and I’m failing at that too!

(deep breath)

SO THE POINT IS LET’S JUST STOP MAKING RULES FOR EACH OTHER AND LIVE YOUR OWN DAMN LIFE AND EAT FUCKING DINNER WHEN YOU’RE FUCKING HUNGRY.

LIKE THIS GUY:  Man Says ‘Fuck It,’ Eats Lunch At 10:58 A.M.

Because all these guidelines make me not enjoy anything.

(And the rule is, life sucks when you don’t enjoy anything.)

*and okay, yes, this might seem contrary to my “Rules for Life” post so how about we amend this to: Other people’s rules suck; make your own.

Leave a Comment

